A Geranium in Slate

I have spotted the Geranium dress by Made by Rae on many well-traveled sewing blogs and have always wanted to try it out. It has formed the basis for a few other sewing projects that I’ve done, including a “Pinkalicious” Halloween costume for Isla last October. This time, I vowed to do it “straight up” as I’ve heard wonderful things about the clarity and precision of the pattern. It did not disappoint. Although I still find buttons unnerving and haven’t mastered flutter sleeves or gathers (yet), the pattern was smooth and glitch-free. DSC_2998

There are several options built into the pattern for a variety of sleeve, waist and neckline styles. Tunic length lines are also included. I went with the flutter sleeve and gathered waist combo with a simple scoop neckline. I couldn’t resist adding patch pockets as my daughter often needs easily accessible places for storing “treasures”.DSC_3034

One of the sample dresses on the cover of the pattern is made in a beautiful textured fabric which I love. This was my source of inspiration for my fabric choice. The main is from Robert Kaufman‘s beautiful Interweave Chambray collection, in slate. The lining fabric is my favourite fabric that I own: “Dottie Multi” from the Just for Fun line of fabric made by Birch Organic Fabrics.DSC_2983

And…I just love picking out buttons. These shiny blue ones called out to me from the rack.Somehow, the dress feels fancy and casual at the same time. It’s debut wear was at my grandfather’s 92nd birthday party. Perhaps a fitting choice; a grand occasion with a lovely family feel. Zoe had so much fun running around in it.DSC_3000

…That is, until the chocolate cake came out, and the dress took a rest to wait for clean hands.

One thought on “A Geranium in Slate

Leave a Reply

