Compagnie M’s “Swing Skirt”: Minimized

Many of my sewing projects are inspired by the Probably Actually sewing blog. This one is no different. I saw this post back in November and have, since then, been wanting to sew Compagnie M’s Swing Skirt for my 5 year old. I finally found time. The piping, inverted box pleat and the invisible zipper were all firsts for me, but Marte’s instructions are excellent and it all came together well. If you look closely, you will see crinkles and lint. Always a good sign that my daughter finds it comfortable and fun to prance around in.

I refer to this as “minimized” because, in my haste to get started, I did not check the settings on my printer correctly and was at the sewing stage when I realized that the 1 inch tester was not actually 1 inch square. Thankfully, everything worked out. This version is the minimized 4 year size extended to the 5 year length. I missed the detail in Gail’s (Probably Actually) blog post that mentioned that I should lengthen the pocket and pocket facing, too. It would be really helpful because the pockets do keep bunching up while she’s wearing it. Her winter weight tights make it tricky, too. I hope to post attempt #2 of this pattern soon: a non-minimized version.

DSC_2497

DSC_2483

2 thoughts on “Compagnie M’s “Swing Skirt”: Minimized

  1. i’m glad it all worked out! and the fit looks great despite the minimizing. all of your projects so far are really lovely, as is your photography. i look forward to seeing more!

Leave a Reply

